Commencement

Embarking on a new stage in life is not easy especially when some adjusting and adapting needs to be done. Being a university student is one of those stages, if you choose that route.

University is uncharted territory and a completely different ball game compared to the schooling environment that you are used to. It can be intimidating -everything is at first- but when you get the hang of it, it’s a piece of cake, well most of it. I came, I saw, I conquered and all that.

I, myself, didn’t know what to expect when I received my offer letter. I was going in blind and the only things that I was certain of were the program I was taking and where I would be doing my foundation studies (Centre for Foundation Studies (CFS) was known as Matriculation Centre of IIUM (MCIIUM)).

It’s easier now in the age of the Internet as you can find information on life in UIA, CFS and university, for specific courses to give you a glimpse of what to expect but they’re usually broad strokes or detailed but limited to certain situations. Everything else is still shrouded in mystery to those who are out of the loop.

I know that life is an adventure and discovering new things is part of the fun but it doesn’t hurt to get some idea on what kind of lemons life will give you. So, I am here to share my experience as a former BENL student at UIA to hopefully give you an idea of what being a BENL student would be like before you set foot on the university’s sacred grounds (part exaggeration, part sarcasm. You’ll understand this once you’re there, if this inside joke is still around) and how to navigate life as a student there once you’re knee deep in the course.

With that, forward ho!

Leave a Reply

